Mima's football blog

Football round up: 4-12 January

I've been a bit quiet as of late, since the Premier League has been on a break. I don't hold too much interest in the EFL Cup and the FA Cup. The results that we've seen haven't been too exciting for me, with the exception of the first leg of the EFL Cup semi-final between Middlesborough and Chelsea. It would be absolutely hilarious if Middlesborough go through, but I'm sure they'll be slapped around by Liverpool in the final, so who cares I guess.

Recently it was announced that the All Whites (the New Zealand national football team) are going to be participating in a tournament called "The W Cup". It's being hosted by the UAE (of course) and features three other teams: Croatia, Egypt, and Tunisia. I'm not sure how keen I am on seeing the boys get absolutely torn apart by Modric and/or Salah, but it's going to be good practice for the FIFA World Cup Oceania qualifiers that are happening later this year. Those latter matches will be hosted here, and I'm hoping one gets played at the stadium near me so that I can go. I'll be able to finally say that I saw Chris Wood, a Premier League footballer, in the flesh.

I've been taking a moderate interest in the A-League Men this season after attending a Phoenix match. Dad told me that apparently a Phoenix legend, Roy Krishna, might come back to the A-League for the Auckland expansion side next season. I can't find any news articles also reporting on this but it would be cool, even if he's playing for a team I won't really support.

Also I can't stop thinking about Kosta Barbarouses's goal against the Western Sydney Wanderers in December. Have a look. It's pretty cool.

That is all.

#a-league #all-whites #football