Mima's football blog

Football round-up

I've been neglecting this blog a little since I've started university again. I am still full of football opinions but haven't been writing them down.

The thing on my mind right now is Brighton's loss to AS Roma in the Europa League RO16. I didn't watch the first leg (I think I was working), but God that result was painful. The second leg was today, and while Brighton's performance was better, it just wasn't enough for the bus that was Roma. Oh well. This is a huge copium statement to make, but at least we can focus on the Premier League now.

Brighton has also been knocked out of the FA cup by Wolves. It really is a roller coaster for Brighton fans right now! The team is really inconsistent. It probably is just down to the demands of European football and the laundry list of injuries we have right now, but I still feel disappointed.

Chelsea are in a similar boat. Billion-pound bottle jobs, anyone? Imagine losing to Klopp's Kids. I had a feeling they'd win against Newcastle though. Yet another unpredictable team!

People are hyping up the Premier League title race - apparently it's been a long time since the race was this tight. With Arsenal and Liverpool separated by goal difference as of writing, and Manchester City trailing behind with just a point, it's getting pretty exciting. But I wouldn't hold my breath. Arsenal may be in phenomenal form right now, and Liverpool might have a shield of armour around them thanks to Klopp's announcement, but my bets are still on City to win the whole thing. They're just completely unstoppable. I wish my club had oil money. (I don't.)

Did I write about Bayer Leverkusen's win over Bayern Munich? I really do think Leverkusen will win the Bundesliga now. It would be amazing if they could do an invincible run, but I highly suspect they will run out of steam soon. Poor Harry Kane, I really do feel for him.

The Champions League quarterfinalists are... really boring? Of course they were all the favourites to win in their RO16 tie (with the exception of Atletico Madrid I guess), but it just feels so soulless. I'm just hoping that City and Real Madrid get drawn against each other. One of them has gotta go in my opinion.

I'm really feeling for Luton right now. I'm not sure if I want them to stay up over Nottingham Forest. I love a good underdog story, but I also love Chris Wood. I think if not Luton, Forest or Everton will get relegated. Burnley and Sheffield United are all but confirmed at this point. I think they'll be mathematically relegated by mid-April.

#football #prem #ucl