Mima's football blog

Premier League Matchweek 18 and 19

Matchweek 18

Another draw for Brighton... I didn't watch this game but I'm a bit disappointed. At least it didn't end in a loss.

The biggest shock of the week has to be Luton winning against Newcastle. I know the Magpies have been absolutely ravaged by injuries but damn. I genuinely hope Luton don't get relegated this season. I have such a soft spot for them.

Burnley winning 2-0 against Fulham was a surprise too. Fulham always shock me with how shit they are sometimes. I'd hoped for better but alas.

I wish I watched Liverpool vs Arsenal. It seemed quite good.

I don't have a lot to say for this week unfortunately.

Matchweek 19

I watched the second half of United vs Villa... I'm mad. How the hell did Villa drop form so quickly? It's like everyone forgot how to pass properly all of a sudden. Their defending was also insanely trash. Credit where credit is due though, United did play well. Congrats to Hojlund for finally getting a Premier League goal - thoroughly deserved. Now watch them get absolutely thumped by Forest in the next match.

Speaking of Forest, how GOOD was Chris Wood in the match against Newcastle? His second and third goals were a thing of beauty. I'm so proud of him! I hope he gets put in the starting lineup more often. Let's pray for another hat-trick next match!

I didn't watch the three matches of Brentford vs Wolves, Chelsea vs Palace, and Everton vs City, but I monitored them on my phone. I was excited for a Chelsea and City loss, but a penalty and a Pickford howler made sure it wasn't to be. Oh well. Credit to Wolves though, they've really become the surprise of the season. I'm rooting for their success.

I also watched most of Brighton vs Tottenham. I missed the first two goals but saw the second two. Brighton have a really good defense, but when they make mistakes, it's often costly. I was praying for a clean sheet of 4-0, but then they conceded two. It is my earnest wish that they keep a clean sheet at least once this season... but it seems more and more like that's asking for too much.

After that game, I switched to Arsenal vs West Ham, where I caught most of the second half. I'd missed both goals, but that didn't matter; the match was absolutely crazy all the same. Have a look at the stats - Arsenal should have won that by a landslide. But West Ham's defense was completely impenetrable. And the Gunners missed some absolute sitters too tbh. The cherry on top was the last minute penalty for West Ham. Even though that got saved, no matter. The Hammers had won. The Gunners had choked.

A pretty good matchweek!

#football #prem